Geeky Cinephile Musings…
I don't pontificate, I blather.

“The Birds” Screening at Arclight

Tippi and da birds, courtesy of cinematicwallpaper.com

Tippi and da birds, courtesy of cinematicwallpaper.com

Last night, my good friend, Tanya, and I went to see TCM’s screening of Alfred Hitchcock’s The Birds at the Arclight Cinemas in Hollywood.  What an amazing experience!! I haven’t seen this film since I was approximately 8 or 9 years old, and I had completely (of course, I was a munchkin) missed the humor back then, so what a treat to watch it now.  The scene where the lovebirds were swaying back and forth during their wild ride up to Bodega Bay was particularly hilarious.  Plus, on the big screen, and with the surround sound, Tanya and I found ourselves brushing away invisible pecking crows from our shoulders during their attack on the children.  The noise of the birds attacking was horrific and larger than life.  You almost wanted to put your hands over your face and start screaming helplessly.  How absolutely wonderful!!

As an added treat (besides the free popcorn and drinks–SCORE!) the absolutely gorgeous Tippi Hedren was a guest speaker.  During the pre-show interview, she mentioned that “Hitch” had become obsessed with her during the filming of The Birds and Marnie, and when she finally broke off their contract and friendship, he threatened (and subsequently carried the threat out) to ruin her career, basically telling everyone who asked for her, including Francois Truffaut, who wanted to cast her in one of his films, that Tippi was “unavailable.”  Wow.  I have heard that he was controlling, but this is pretty intense. 

Anyone else know more about this? It’s a pretty intriguing story.

p.s. Tippi looked fantastic in a bronze satin pantsuit. Killah.

 

3 Responses to ““The Birds” Screening at Arclight”

  1. Wow, I am terribly jealous. This is one of my favorite movies of all time. As cheesy/dated as it may look now, there is something about that playground scene that still gives me the heebie jeebies. I’ve never seen it on the big screen with a theater full of people but I still cling to the hope that it will happen for me one day. Add Tippi Hedren to the mix and, well, like I said: Terribly, terribly jealous.

  2. I too am jealous. While the Birds is not my favorite Hitchcock film I still would have loved to see it on the big screen.

  3. It’s about incest y’know…


Speak yer piece, friend...

