Geeky Cinephile Musings…
I don't pontificate, I blather.

In the interim, a small whine…

I’m currently writing an absolutely monstrous post about my recent trip to the New Beverly Cinema to see a 35 mm, midnight screening of Dario Argento’s Inferno.  It’s already hit about 900 words!! Jesus!! Edit!! Edit!!

But in the meantime, I’d like to pose a question that has just been bugging the SHIT out of me.  I want to know why in the name of ALL that is holy do all of these giallos have such terrible dubbing? Why not just let the danged actors speak in their native tongues and use sub-titles?!!??!!

Now, if you’re about to post the answer, don’t.  It’s rhetorical.  I get it–it was probably deemed necessary by the studios to make it more accessible to the English speaking public and therefore more mainstream, yadda yadda yadda.  But actually, if you have another reason, post it, cos I would be curious to know.

But yeah, it really (Peter Griffin) “grinds my gears.”  The dubbed voices NEVER seem to even try and capture the actual emotion the original actor was conveying, and it makes for such a disjointed feeling….on the other hand, these crazy dubbings also lend giallos an eccentricity that makes them all the more endearing, so there you go.

All right. I’ve just talked myself in a circle.  Go me!

No Responses to “In the interim, a small whine…”

Speak yer piece, friend...

