Geeky Cinephile Musings…
I don't pontificate, I blather.

A quickie!

That title caught your attention, didn’t it? I’m gearing up for my first book report (don’t worry, it’s a book about the film industry!), but in the interim Paul and I have been catching some great films, including Men Who Stare At Goats, starring George Clooney, Ewan McGregor, Jeff Bridges, and Kevin Spacey. We both enjoyed this one very much, and I’m not really surprised it didn’t get a huge box office launch–it’s the sort of film major studios don’t really know what to do with.  They cannot resist the force of the starpower behind it, so they call it “quirky” and “off-beat,” pat the producers on the head and move on.  I’d recommend it though.  It’s not ground-breaking, but it’s entertaining and very interesting.

This week, we’re going to watch Close Encounters of the Third Kind on a massive projected screen with big damned speakers, courtesy of Mark and Tracy, and we’re going to catch The King of Marvin Gardens , a film I am VERY excited about seeing, at the New Beverly tomorrow night.

As for what book I’m reading, I’ll give you a clue: the person who wrote it was involved in Close Encounters, Taxi Driver, and The Sting.  More to come!

No Responses to “A quickie!”

Speak yer piece, friend...

