Geeky Cinephile Musings…
I don't pontificate, I blather.

Are you a Cumberbitch!!!???

Yep, that’s a real thing.  Cumber. Bitch.  Sigh.  Moving on!

THE IMITATION GAME

Written by: Andrew Hodges (book) / Graham Moore (screenplay)

Directed by: Morten Tyldum

Stars: Benedict Cumberbatch, Keira Knightley, Matthew Goode, Mark Strong

First Impression: Well, obviously this will be good.

Final Impression: This was a very solid and SAFE film.  Cumberbatch’s performance is of course strong and compelling.  I think he’s one of the finest actors to come along in the past two decades.  The rest of the cast is on the same page—all are on the top of their game.  The story was fascinating and infuriating.  Cinematography was nothing special, ditto for the direction.  Yeah, this will probably win Best Picture, based on what I’ve seen so far (if it at least beats The Theory of Everything, I’ll be pleased) and based on people’s reactions to it that I’ve gotten wind of prior to watching this.  But…I gotta be honest…I’m not as enthusiastically overwhelmed as many of the folks I’ve spoken to who have seen this film.

Overall:  It’s not a work of art.  It’s good storytelling, and that’s valuable…but not really exciting.

More mini-reviews for this year’s awards season…

Birdman

The Theory Of Everything

The Judge

 

 

4 Responses to “Are you a Cumberbitch!!!???”

  1. […] I am SO glad directors like PT Anderson exist.  You may have already read my mini-review about The Imitation Game and how my overall feeling is that it is a solid film—excellent in all ways, but safe as houses […]


Speak yer piece, friend...

